Emergency

For patients

For referrers

Contact

Hernia operation

Depending on the surgical technique, a hernia operation is performed under general anaesthesia or with a peridural (spinal anaesthesia). Minimally invasive techniques such as TAPP or TEP always require a general anaesthetic.

 

In certain cases, hernia surgery can even be performed with local anaesthesia. In very old people, for whom a general anaesthetic is too great a risk, or in patients with dementia, for whom an anaesthetic would cause their condition to deteriorate, an operation with the Lichtenstein technique under local anaesthetic is feasible for an inguinal hernia.

General or partial anaesthesia

During a general anaesthetic, the patient’s consciousness and perception are completely switched off. The muscles are relaxed and the body feels no pain. For patients who experience strong anxiety or nervousness before a procedure, a general anaesthetic can minimise the risk of stress. General anaesthesia is very safe today. However, there is always some residual risk. Common side effects can include nausea, sore throat and hoarseness after the anaesthetic. In rare cases, pneumonia can occur due to inhalation of stomach contents, or cardiovascular problems or breathing problems can occur.

 

Regional anaesthesia (peridural anaesthesia and spinal anaesthesia) temporarily interrupts the sensation of pain by blocking the nerves. It is particularly suitable for procedures in the groin or abdomen. The patient remains conscious or is given a mild sedative. Regional anaesthesia is gentler on the body and there are fewer after-effects such as nausea, drowsiness, sore throat, etc. It can, however, lower blood pressure. However, there may be a drop in blood pressure or a slowing of the heart rate. Occasionally there is headache or back pain in the area of the puncture.

 

Our specialists will advise you individually on the surgical technique and the options for anaesthesia.

 

Through close cooperation with various clinics, operations can be performed at the following locations.

Read more about:

Mission Statement

The team at the Hernia Centre Switzerland specialises in the diagnosis and treatment of hernias.

Team

The team of doctors at the Hernia Centre Switzerland is led by the head physician, Dr. med.…

Individual diagnosis for hernias

Do you suspect a hernia, have you already been diagnosed with a hernia by your GP or…

Aesthetic medicine

In addition to hernia operations, we also offer procedures in the field of aesthetic medicine.

Aftercare

In general, you should expect a recovery period of 2 to 6 weeks after an operation.

Emergency

An incarcerated hernia is always an emergency and must be repositioned (moved back under ultrasound control) within…

Notfall

Für Patienten

Für Zuweiser

Kontakt

Operation

Hernienoperation

Eine Hernienoperation wird je nach Operationstechnik unter Vollnarkose oder mit einer Periduralanästhesie (Rückenmarksnarkose) durchgeführt. Minimalinvasive Techniken wie TAPP oder TEP benötigen immer eine Vollnarkose.

 

In gewissen Fällen ist in der Hernienchirurgie sogar eine Operation mit Lokalanästhesie möglich. Bei sehr alten Menschen, bei denen eine Vollnarkose ein zu grosses Risiko darstellt oder bei dementen Patienten, bei denen einen Narkose eine Verschlechterung ihres Zustandes zur Folge hätte, ist bei einem Leistenbruch ein Eingriff mit der Lichtenstein-Technik unter Lokalanästhesie durchführbar.

Voll- oder Teilnarkose

Bei einer Vollnarkose sind das Bewusstsein und die Wahrnehmung des Patienten komplett ausgeschaltet. Die Muskeln sind entspannt und der Körper empfindet keinen Schmerz. Für Patienten, die starke Angst oder Nervosität vor einem Eingriff empfinden, kann eine Vollnarkose das Stressrisiko minimieren. Vollnarkosen sind heute sehr sicher. Es gibt aber immer ein gewisses Restrisiko. Allgemeine Nebenwirkungen können Übelkeit, Halsschmerzen und Heiserkeit nach der Narkose sein. In seltenen Fällen kann es durch das Einatmen von Mageninhalt zu einer Lungenentzündung kommen oder es können Herz-Kreislaufbeschwerden oder Atemprobleme auftreten.

 

Bei einer Regionalanästhesie (Periduralanästhesie sowie Spinalanästhesie) wird die Schmerzempfindung durch eine Blockade der Nerven temporär unterbrochen. Sie eignet sich besonders bei Eingriffen in der Leiste oder im Unterleib. Der Patient bleibt bei Bewusstsein oder erhält ein leichtes Sedativum. Eine Regionalanästhesie ist für den Körper schonender und es kommt weniger zu Nachwirkungen wie Übelkeit, Schläfrigkeit, Halsschmerzen, etc. Es kann aber zu Blutdrucksenkungen oder einer Verlangsamung der Herzfrequenz kommen. Gelegentlich treten Kopf- oder Rückenschmerzen im Bereich der Punktion auf.

 

Unsere Fachärzte beraten Sie individuell bezüglich Operationstechnik und den Möglichkeiten der Anästhesie.

Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Kliniken können Operationen an folgenden Standorten durchgeführt werden.

Lesen Sie mehr über

Leitbild

Das Team des Hernienzentrums Schweiz ist auf die Diagnose und Behandlung von Hernien spezialisiert.

Team

Das Ärzteteam des Hernienzentrums Schweiz wird vom Chefarzt Dr. med. Enrico Pöschmann geleitet. Zum Kernteam der Chirurgen…

Individuelle Diagnose

Haben Sie den Verdacht auf eine Hernie, ist Ihnen bereits von Ihrem Hausarzt eine Hernie diagnostizier...

Ästhetische Medizin

Ergänzend zu den Hernien-Operationen bieten wir auch Eingriffe aus dem Bereich der ästhetischen Medizin an.

Nachsorge

Generell sollten Sie nach einem operativen Eingriff mit einer Genesungszeit von 2 bis 6 Wochen rechnen.

Notfall

Eine einklemmte Hernie ist immer ein Notfall und muss innerhalb von wenigen Stunden reponiert...